Campaign Finance Frequently Asked Questions

Campaign Finance FAQ

Idaho Contribution Limits

Limits set forth in Section 67-6610A, Idaho Code.
Donations Going To
Aggregate Contributions From State Legislature Judicial Office Local Government Office Political Committee 1
organized on candidate's behalf
Statewide Office Political Committee2
organized on candidate's behalf
Individual (*other than candidate) $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 $5,000 $5,000
Corporation, PAC, or other Recognized Legal Entity $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 $5,000 $5,000
County Central Committees $2,000 $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 (Judicial/Local Gov't)
$2,000 (State Legislature)
$5,000 $5,000
State Central Committees $2,000 $1,000 $1,000 $2,000 $10,000 $10,000

1 For State Legislature, Judicial, or Local Government Office

2 For Statewide Office

*Candidate contributions unlimited to his/her campaign

† Limits are separate for Primary and General elections

‡Includes National Party Organizations

The contribution limits for the state legislator shall apply to judicial district offices.

Contributions other than money or its equivalent are deemed to have a monetary value equivalent to the fair market value of the contribution. Services or property or rights furnished at less than their fair market value for the purpose of assisting any candidate or political committee are deemed a contribution. A contribution of this kind shall be reported as an in-kind contribution at its fair market value and counts toward any applicable contribution limit of the contributor. Contributions shall not include the personal services of volunteers.

System Upgrade In Progress

Campaign Finance, Lobbyist Reporting, and Online Voter Tools are expected to be offline from April 9th at 5:00 p.m. MDT, through April 12th at 8:00 a.m. MDT to complete a system upgrade.

Per Idaho Code 67-6607, campaign finance is reported monthly during a campaign’s election year. The deadline for the March report falls on Saturday, April 10th. Due to the interruption caused by this upgrade, political treasurers will be allowed to file the March report until 11:59 p.m. MDT on Monday, April 12th.

While we do our best to ensure compliance with all deadlines in statute, the timing of this release is critical to ensure minimal (or no) impact to the May election cycle. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.