Idaho Secretary of State
Notary Training

Training Video

Training Transcript

Chapter 2 – Become a Notary

Welcome back! Now that we know what a notary is, let’s learn how to obtain a notary commission in Idaho. There are a few, simple requirements: to apply, you must submit a completed, notarized application and a $10,000 surety bond along with your $30 filing fee. In order to qualify to receive a commission as a notary public by the Idaho Secretary of State, you must:
• Be at least 18 years of age;
• Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
• Be a resident of Idaho or be employed in Idaho; and
• Be able to read and write.

Your notary commission will expire after six years. At that time, if you wish to renew your commission, you may submit an application within 90 days of your commission expiring. It is important to remember your commission is automatically terminated if you move out of state or no longer maintain a place of business or practice in Idaho.

Once you’ve submitted your application and received your notary certificate, you can purchase your official notary stamp and journal. It is your responsibility to make sure your stamp conforms to the standards required by Idaho law. In order to meet these requirements, your stamp must be an inked stamp that includes:
• Your name—exactly as it is listed on your certificate
• The words “”Notary Public””
• The words “”State of Idaho””
• Your commission number
• A serrated or milled edge border

You MAY choose to include the phrase “My commission expires”, along with the date, however NO OTHER additional information may be included.

Please remember, the image of the stamp MUST be clearly visible when copied. When you use your stamp, you will not have to enter this information again when completing the notarial certificate. However, if any of the information contained on the stamp changes, it must be replaced. Handwritten corrections are NOT allowed.

While keeping a notary journal is not required, it is a good idea. Notary journals come in several different formats. They are specifically designed to track records in a chronologically numbered manner while deterring any deletion, alteration, or modification of the pages. The right tool is worth the investment, and you may not use a loose-leaf notebook.

Now that we’ve learned how to become a notary in Idaho, it’s time to see how much you remember. Select the quiz for chapter 2, and I’ll see you at chapter 3!

v1.0 – 6/27/19

Prepared for you by the
Idaho Secretary of State

Chapter 2 Quiz

Return to Notary Training Home

Chapter 2 Transcript
Download Chapter 2 Transcript

System Upgrade In Progress

Campaign Finance, Lobbyist Reporting, and Online Voter Tools are expected to be offline from April 9th at 5:00 p.m. MDT, through April 12th at 8:00 a.m. MDT to complete a system upgrade.

Per Idaho Code 67-6607, campaign finance is reported monthly during a campaign’s election year. The deadline for the March report falls on Saturday, April 10th. Due to the interruption caused by this upgrade, political treasurers will be allowed to file the March report until 11:59 p.m. MDT on Monday, April 12th.

While we do our best to ensure compliance with all deadlines in statute, the timing of this release is critical to ensure minimal (or no) impact to the May election cycle. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.