2016 Presidential Electors Meeting is at noon on Monday, December 19


Date: December 12, 2016
Contact: Office of the Secretary of State, Elections Division
Phone: (208) 334-2852

Boise, Idaho — Secretary of State Lawerence Denney and Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter today announced the meeting of the Presidential Electors. The Electors will be meeting at noon Monday, December 19, in the Governor’s Ceremonial Office. They will be casting their ballots for Idaho’s four
electoral votes for United States President.

By federal law, Electors representing the political party of the candidate who wins the popular vote for President in each state officially elect the President and Vice-President by casting their votes at this historical event.

Idaho’s Presidential Electors are Layne Bangerter, Caleb Lakey, Jennifer Locke, and Melinda Smyser.



Lawerence Denney has served the people of Idaho since 1990. His public service began as a representative in District 13 and, following redistricting, then became a representative in District 9 until 2014. During this time, Denney served two terms as Majority Leader and three terms as Speaker of the House before successfully running for state office as Idaho’s Secretary of State. He is currently in his first term as Secretary of State.